Instant Mute

When the HLA meeting was done the other night, I took out my hearing aids before I left the room.  I tend to forget just how hard of hearing I am. I was shocked at how instantly muted the room became.  The chattering voices became far, far away and not one word was recognizable.  My thought was, “I’m really going deaf.”  It’s a scary thought.  I realized, once again, how helpful my hearing aids are.

Why did I take my hearing aids out?  I was driving the Miata with the top down. It has a loud muffler which embarrasses me at me times because it feels teenager-ish.  If I take my hearing aids out, it doesn’t bother me so much.

I love riding with the top down but not only is the wind in my hair, it violently rushes through my hearing aids when they are in.  (It’s like the wind through cell phones.)  With hearing aids out, it becomes a much more pleasant ride.  Even the traffic rushing by me is muted.  Then I enjoy the wind in my hair, the full view of the mountains before me and the summer night.  It can be a blessing to have the mute option now and then.

Leave a Reply

