Accessibility and Creating Accessibility

Today I have two events.  The first one, The Broadway play Once, is accessible fully accessible thanks to captions by Turner Reporting and Captioning Services. Knowing there will be captions makes it stress free event.   I also watched the movie on DVD the other night so I have the story line down which I hope helps me relax a little more at the play.

Once

Once

A great addition is Kingbury Hall provides an FM assistive listening system with a neckloop.  Through that I hear more musical pitches and catch some dialog.  This makes the whole experience all the better.

Later tonight Ken and I will attend his ski patrol banquet.  This event has no accessibility other than what I fix up myself which requires thinking ahead.  I’m charging my FM system right now and we need to show up a little early with masking tape and explain the circumstances though I’ve attended the annual event enough I’m sure they remember by now.  We then tape the transmitter to the microphone.  It’s not as good as having captions but usually I hear as well as, if not better, than the hearing people there because of the bad acoustics.

FM system

Preparation

For this event I will swap out my Siemens for my old red Phonaks which have the FM receivers built in.   I had the receivers built in because my hearing before the Phonaks had FM sleeves to slip over my hearing aids and one of them had a weak connection.  It took years to figure that out.  Since it was my first FM system I thought that’s the way FM systems were, they faded in and out. The audiologist I got my hearing aids and FM system through didn’t know much about the FM system and suggested I read the instruction book. (I can’t remember if I ever took the time to do t hat.)  By some weird chance one afternoon I pushed the sleeve up into the hearing aid  and found out it stayed consistent.   That was a big ‘duh’ moment.

Phonaks with FM receivers built in.

Phonaks with FM receivers built in.

When I got my Phonaks I insisted on having an FM system built.  The hearing aid dispenser asked me a couple of times if I was sure because it would make them ‘bigger.’  If I didn’t care about having bright red hearing aids why would I care if they were a little bigger?

Accessibility can come ready made and I can also create it at the typical events.  I’ve learned a lot over the years.

One response to “Accessibility and Creating Accessibility

  1. Pingback: Hearing Loss Pages | Nonya Business's Blog

Leave a Reply

