Summer life

I have outlines and subjects galore to write about but since late July, life has been non-stop with traveling.  I thought I’d share some of it with you and then get serious about writing again.

Late July and into August we did a Vanagon trip to the Oregon/Washington coast but right before leaving, I hosted an HLAA-SLC social at my house.  Good people, a great night.

Our social

Our social

20150828_25

We made it to the California Sierras to visit friends who also have a Vanagon. (Ours is blue.)

We made a quick tour of Mt. Lassen before hitting up the Giant Redwoods in California.

20150828_100

Redwood National/State Park.

20150828_106

Whale’s Head Beach, about an hour north of the California border in Oregon. Loved it because hardly anyone was there.

20150828_116

Made it to the Rogue Brewery in Newport, OR. Their nut brown is awesome and they have a good chocolate one too.

This was about an hour before getting to Astoria., it's one of my favorite pictures.

This was about an hour before getting to Astoria., it’s one of my favorite pictures.

Then up to Ocean Park, WA to visit good friends.  Brrr!

Then up to Ocean Park, WA to visit good friends. Brrr!

Onto Seattle to visit family and the troll under the bridge...which has a VW bug under a hand by the way.

Onto Seattle to visit family and the troll under the bridge…which has a VW bug under a hand by the way.

While in the area we also visited Jimi Hendrix’s grave, Pike’s Market and Snowqualmie Falls.

Then back down through Oregon again where we traveled up the Columbia River Gorge, watched wind surfing at Hood River, OR.  We drove by Mt. Hood and camped along the Pacific Coast trail.  Then I had to go to Bend, OR to the visit Deschutes Brewery.

Their seasonal ale was good but River Ale is still my favorite.

Their seasonal ale was good but River Ale is still my favorite.

From there we toured the Lava Caves.  Brrr!  After that we found an abandoned campground nowhere close to a town.  It felt very Friday the 13th.  It was peaceful.

Our whole trip was blue skies and good weather, except traveling through NV to CA where we hit a thunderstorm with lots of rain and again on the way back through NV to Utah we got drenched.

I wasn’t home 12 hours from that trip before I took off to Arizona to be with my youngest son.  His living quarters was threatened by a rare wildfire in Mohave, AZ.  The fire actually went all the way around his place but left a good chunk of the neighborhood alone which was amazing!  We didn’t know that for 3 days however because they wouldn’t let people in until the hot spots were down, the propane tanks safe and downed wires back up.  It was 3 days of hell waiting to see if his cat made it through the 110 plus temperatures without electricity and a huge fire blazing all around.

The fire went down down the streets on both sides of the property.

The fire went down down the streets on both sides of the property.

Leo the Cat came through unharmed!

Leo the Cat came through unharmed!

I came back home 5 days later and went to work, tying up the speechreading and hearing aids 101 classes updates.  Ken and I found time to go camping in the High Uintas in eastern Utah at Spirit and Hoop Lakes.

The stream that fed into Spirit Lake.  This was about 10,000 ft.

The stream that fed into Spirit Lake. This was about 10,000 ft.

Tamarack Lake,  hike up from Spirit Lake.

Tamarack Lake, hike up from Spirit Lake.

That night was cold!  I broke out the down coat.

IMG_2270

And we still had fun.

Fishing at Hoop Lake which was about 9,000 feet.

Fishing at Hoop Lake which was about 9,000 feet.

So then I come home to work and visit with my grandkids for a few short weeks.

Riley who is about 4 months old here I think.

Riley who is about 4 months old here I think.

IMG_2389 (1)

From there I went to the ALDA convention, Association for Late Deafened Adults.  It was my first ALDA con and it deserves a post all on it’s own.  Here’s two of my favorite pictures from karaoke night.  (Yes the deaf can and will sing at the ALDA con.)

Taking a break from all the fun.

Taking a break from all the fun.

These two are feeling the music's vibrations through a balloon for the first time.

These two are feeling the music’s vibrations through a balloon for the first time.

So I’m home again, visit with kids and grandkids and we’re off again in less than two weeks.  This time we went up Gray Canyon on the Green River in Utah.  The one thing about having a ‘handicap’ is my National Parks pass card called Access.  It’s gotten us into the National Parks free and 1/2 off camping in most places.  I felt guilty about having one for a while but got over it.  I miss out on so much in the hearing world why not have this one perk in life?

Sunset on Swasey's Rapid

Sunset on Swasey’s Rapid

Campsite near practically right on the rapid.  It's great white noise for tinnitus.

Campsite near practically right on the rapid. It’s great white noise for tinnitus.

My hubby guiding us down the Green River.  We did two days on an 8 mile stretch of the river.

My hubby guiding us down the Green River. We did two days on an 8 mile stretch of the river.

I’m home again as of last night.  I have to be up early to travel to busy health fair to talk to people about the services Utah offers to those who are deaf and hard of hearing.  Then my parents are visiting for the weekend.  I have about a two week breather before my next planned trip to Montana to visit a dear friend.  After that, I hope to stay home for a little while. I hope to be able to post a couple of times before going. I have a lot of catching up to do!

Leave a Reply

