The Super Bowl as Hard of Hearing

For years I have mostly stayed home to watch the Super Bowl because I want to watch it the way I want to watch it.  Mainly I want to control the captions.  I don’t like the captions on during the game because they are often displayed right in the middle of screen where all the action is going on.  Or they put the captions over stats, times, scores, etc and sometimes I want to see all that too. However I like to turn the captions on during the commercials for they are half the fun!  So watching football with me means I push a lot of buttons.

This year I have the hearing loop to top it off.  Now I really don’t need or want captions during the game and I can hear the commercials that aren’t captioned.  This year it looks like all the commercials were captioned anyway but I was prepared.

We got an invite this year and Ken politely turned it down after talking to me (see my reasons above).  His friend came back and said he has 3 TVs so I could have the captions on one of them.  This is where I took over and thanked him for the offer then explained my remote control control use.  “I’d need to be the remote control queen.”  I also told him I have the hearing loop here at home and that’s an added benefit.  He came back with “You get to be remote control queen and bring your loop too.”  Wow!  That’s not an offer I get everyday.  I get to watch the game the way I want and get to be social too???  Okay then!

He sent Ken a picture of the back of his TV so we could figure out the connection ahead of time.  Funny enough, we used a spare connection from the Bluetooth TV streamer I have and don’t use (I can’t keep my necklace charged to use it).    We got there a little early and this is what I see as I walk into the living room.

IMG_3690

I’m near tears.

Ken pulls out the loop and it connects to the TV without a problem.

IMG_3691

And I’m all set with lots of options.  I can watch the game. I can hear the game.  I can socialize.  I can move in and out of captions especially fast because his remote control had a special CC button.  I was in Super Bowl heaven.

FullSizeRender

With my phone of course.

Good food, good people and a pretty good game even though I wasn’t cheering for the team who won.  It was a unique experience and I was honored to be included, I was touched.

I think that was the first time I’ve told someone the full reason why I don’t go to Super Bowl parties.  It was also the first time someone asked why not?  Why haven’t told people that before?  Probably because I figured people would be irritated by it all but not so.  Of course there were other TVs in the house others watched it from our TV too.

A few things I want to remember…

One: I could be more proactive and not automatically assume it’s not going to happen.

Two: There are really good people out there and I think most people fall into that category. It’s not like I hang out with many bad people anyway.

Three: I want to make a hard of hearing party soon around a movie or something.  I want to invite my friends with hearing aids over.  If I had that much fun with hearing people, I want to do it with my hard of hearing friends too.

4 responses to “The Super Bowl as Hard of Hearing

  1. Hi Chelle.. this is Cristal… =D
    I’m 27 and this is the first time ever that I have wear hearing aids.
    I feel so stressful sometimes when in parties and listening in the movies…
    Your blog is awesome, I found it while trying to start a new one from my own experience, reading you makes me be optimist, I really feel sad that my hearing aids aren’t as good as I imagined, maybe it’s just the first month so I have to get used to it.. Everything sounds too aloud, and even if I hear I can not understand the speech very well…
    I’m using binax 7 of siemens… Do you reccomend any brand or could share your experience when you first use them?
    Some days I feel so fustrated than I feel like not wearing them at all…
    Thank you for reading and sharing…
    Hugs!! =D

    • Thanks! When you start one of your own, let me know. 🙂
      Hearing aids won’t make perfect hearing again, darn it. Life would be a lot easier if it did. I figure if I get a 30-35% gain on word discrimination with hearing aids that’s better than not having them. If you don’t have a word discrimination gain with them in then go back and keep going back until your audiologist gets the programming right. Be the boss! Be specific about what you are hearing and what you want to hear more of. Give him/her examples of times where you struggle and that may help with program tweaking.
      I wear Siemens Carats right now and my word discrimination is the best it’s been a long time. I should be jumping with joy but the journey to getting that high score was a pain in the rear. I hated these hearing aids at first but I’m good with them now. Phonak Niada’s were my favorite pair. The first time I slipped them on it felt like coming home. I had the least problems with them and they were bright red!
      Thank for writing in!

  2. Chelle, what an incredible experience — all the way around. Thank you for sharing.
    Dee

Leave a Reply

